My Summer Garden

I know this is supposed to be about food but with the summer heat, I find myself cooking less and gardening more. I don’t even turn on my oven in the summer. So here’s a few pics of my efforts of a garden this year and with fall fast approaching, I’m sure I’ll be back cooking with more food posts for the blog. I know, you’re waiting with bated breath.

You might think my plan is random but its not, actually. I took my three favorite english gardens and used them as inspiration (and loosely, at that, because I am not nearly the gardener that the national trust is!):

1) the white garden at Sissinghurst;
2) the boxwood at Great Dixter, and,
3) the lavender at Hidcote Manor.

These three gardens are magnificent and if you are ever in their neck of the woods, I recommend you see them for yourself. As for my small garden, I went with a silver/white/green combo and I have 5 kinds of lavender growing in the lavender garden, though the white and  hidcote variety fared better than others.

.. . . through the window

image

image

image

. . . my front door containers of titan white and lavender vinca with salvia

image

. . . closeup of the salvia

image

New Guinea Impatiens (white and lavender)

image

image

image

image

image

Container with Dichondra Silver Falls, White Callibrachoa and Boxwood

image

image

White Lavender

image

image

Lobelia w snaps (doesn’t go with my theme but I like blue and yellow)

image

This entry was posted in flowers, garden and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

